- xTool
- xTool M2
- enclosed laser engraver
- diode lasers
A quick, honest note: some links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay.
Is the xTool M2 10W Enclosed Laser Engraver Worth It in 2026?
Yes, if what you want is an enclosed, Class 1 diode laser that places designs by camera and you are buying it for the wood, leather, felt, fabric and paper crafts its listing names rather than for thick cutting: those are the strengths the Amazon listing names and xTool's own pages describe in more detail. The one thing to settle before you order is what the standalone box does not contain. The print-to-cut workflow in the headline needs the CMYK Inkjet module, and per the listing that module and the RA3 Lite rotary "are not included in this M2 standalone, available separately as add-ons".
Updated October 2026.
We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
What the M2 standalone is, and what it is not
The listing describes the M2 as a Class 1 enclosed laser engraver with built-in dual cameras, and its last bullet spells out the package: "What's included: xTool M2 machine, base material kit." It states the laser output power as 10000mW and says the machine "comes standard with 10W diode lasers".
xTool sells the M2 in more than one form. Its product page lists "10W Standalone" and "20W Standalone" variants plus bundles, so the Amazon listing covered here is the 10W standalone, and every cutting figure below is the 10W figure unless it says otherwise.
Per the listing, the M2's "dual-mode architecture" lets you add the CMYK Inkjet module "to work with the laser", and a 3W IR laser is also sold separately "to unlock full-color printing or fine engraving on metal/plastic". The listing's own phrasing is "full-color printing (module required)".
Enclosure, Class 1 and the interlocks
Both sources make the same safety claim, and the wording matters. The listing says "Class 1 safety with real-time monitoring and a fully enclosed design that protects your family". xTool's M2 FAQ says "xTool M2 is classified as a Class 1 laser device" and explains how: "Under normal operating conditions, xTool M2 embedded laser is enclosed within a housing and operates behind a protective cover, ensuring that the laser radiation accessible to humans does not exceed Class 1." The same FAQ states that "the product's protective cover and baseplate are equipped with safety interlock switches" and that "if the protective cover is opened or the baseplate is removed during operation, the laser module stops working."
xTool's launch post adds that the machine "is fully enclosed with a laser-filtering lid that keeps the beam, smoke, and debris contained" and "features tilt detection, lid-open safety stop, and AI troubleshooting." None of that removes the need to vent; it means the beam and the smoke stay inside the housing until the exhaust handles them. If you are weighing this against an open-frame diode, this breakdown of the enclosed-versus-open-frame safety tradeoff is the companion read.
What the dual cameras do
The listing's camera bullet says the built-in dual cameras offer "a real-time preview of your workspace" and, "backed by ACS", fuse "this vision with motion control for a 'Place & Go' experience". xTool's FAQ puts numbers on the hardware: a distant-view camera at 2592 × 1944 (5MP) and a close-view camera at 1600 × 1200 (2MP). The FAQ's stated XY positioning accuracy is "≤ 0.1 mm", with repeated positioning accuracy "≤ 0.07 mm".
In practice this is the feature that separates the M2 from a camera-less diode: you set material on the baseplate, see it on screen and place the design on the live image instead of jogging the head to a corner. The FAQ also notes that the M2's laser module "does not come with a red cross emitter" and instead "uses a low-intensity light for positioning", so framing relies on the cameras and a low-intensity positioning light rather than a red crosshair.
Work area, power and what 10W cuts
xTool's FAQ gives the 10W module's processing area as "16.7'' × 12.6'' (426 × 320 mm)". The Amazon listing does not state a work area, so that figure is xTool's alone. The FAQ's cutting line for this power class is specific: "A 10W module can cut up to 8mm-thick basswood plywood at a time." Its spot size for the 10W module is "0.06 × 0.04 mm", and the blue-light module's wavelength is "445 nm (±15 nm)".
Height matters inside an enclosure. Per the FAQ, Z-axis travel is "32mm (with the baseplate)" and the "maximum processing height with the baseplate" is 26 mm. That is the ceiling for a flat object placed inside; taller round objects are the rotary's job, covered below.
On materials, the listing title names wood, leather, felt, fabric and paper, and a bullet claims "300+ materials", a figure xTool's launch post repeats. xTool's FAQ lists what the blue-light module processes as "wood, acrylic, leather, paper, corrugated cardboard, black aluminum oxide, thin metal, stone, bamboo products, and so on", and it carries a warning worth repeating word for word: the module "is not suitable for processing highly reflective materials, such as mirror-finished metals, unoxidized aluminum, copper, and mirror-finished stainless steel, to prevent laser reflection injuries or device damage."
The FAQ's 600mm/s figure is a maximum XY head travel speed, not a cutting speed.
Air assist, exhaust and the desk it needs
The M2 has air assist built in. xTool's FAQ: "xTool M2 comes with a built-in air pump, so no additional air assist is required. You can set different air pump power depending on engraving or cutting." The product page's FAQ adds a limit: "The M2 does not have an external air port, so connecting a third-party air pump is not supported."
For exhaust, xTool's FAQ lists an exhaust fan among the parts you clean and replace, and lists the "xTool Desktop Smoke Purifier (needs an adapter)" among compatible accessories. Neither source, as read, states a duct diameter or an airflow figure, so work out the venting path before the machine arrives; this guide to venting a laser in an apartment covers the options.
The footprint is "610 × 569 × 180 mm" at "12.3 kg (basic kit)", per the FAQ, with a stated working temperature of "0 ~ 35℃". The FAQ's power-supply line for the 10W module is a 25V 4.8A adapter.
Software and connectivity
Per the listing, xTool Studio "offers hundreds of ready-to-use templates and an integrated AI image generator". xTool's FAQ gives the practical details: communication by "USB/Wi-Fi", a "PC" control mode, "Windows/macOS" support, and file formats "SVG/DXF/JPG/JPEG/PNG/BMP and so on". The listing describes the software as beginner-friendly. xTool's FAQ lists no tablet or phone control, so treat this as a computer-driven machine unless xTool states otherwise.
The add-ons, and what each one changes
- CMYK Inkjet module. Sold separately and required for full-color printing, per the listing. xTool's FAQ gives its processing area as "11.8 × 11.5'' (300 × 294 mm)", smaller than the laser's. xTool's launch post says the M2 prints on "paper, cardstock, adhesive sticker paper, felt, fabric, glass, and wood".
- 3W infrared module. Sold separately, per the listing, for "fine engraving on metal/plastic". xTool's FAQ states a "1064 nm (±10 nm)" wavelength, a "412 × 310 mm" area and a materials list of "metal (stainless steel, copper, aluminum, precious metals), anodized aluminum, certain plastics".
- RA3 Lite rotary. Not included, per the listing. xTool's launch post describes "chuck, sphere, ring, and vase modes for objects up to 100 mm in diameter, without needing a riser base", and the product page's FAQ states that "to use RA3 with xTool M2, you will need the M2 Adapter Kit." This rotary attachment roundup explains what those mode names mean in practice.
- What it will not take. xTool's FAQ: "xTool M2 does not support the riser base", "does not support the conveyor feeder", "does not support the honeycomb panel", and it "does not support physical blade cutting and cannot cut all vinyl materials."
Key specs
| Spec | Amazon listing | xTool's pages |
|---|---|---|
| Laser | 10W diode (10000mW) | 10W blue-light module, 445 nm (±15 nm) |
| Safety class | Class 1, fully enclosed | Class 1; interlocked cover and baseplate |
| Cameras | Built-in dual cameras, real-time preview | 5MP distant-view and 2MP close-view |
| Positioning accuracy | "High accuracy", no figure | ≤ 0.1 mm (XY) |
| Work area | Not stated | 426 × 320 mm (10W module) |
| Cutting | "Precision cutting", no figure | Up to 8mm basswood plywood at a time (10W) |
| Max processing height | Not stated | 26 mm with the baseplate |
| Air assist | Not stated | Built-in air pump; no external air port |
| Connectivity | Not stated | USB/Wi-Fi, PC control, Windows/macOS |
| Software | xTool Studio, templates, AI image generator | xTool Studio |
| Size and weight | Not stated | 610 × 569 × 180 mm, 12.3 kg |
| In the box | xTool M2 machine, base material kit | Sold as "10W Standalone" and bundles |
| CMYK, 3W IR, RA3 Lite | Sold separately | Exclusive accessories; RA3 needs the M2 Adapter Kit |
What stands out
- Class 1 enclosure on both sources, with xTool's FAQ adding that opening the cover or removing the baseplate stops the laser.
- Two cameras with a stated ≤ 0.1 mm positioning accuracy, per xTool's FAQ.
- Built-in air pump, per xTool, so the standalone needs no external air assist.
- A clear upgrade path: color printing, infrared metal engraving and a rotary, each sold separately per the listing.
Where it might not fit
- Cutting depth is a 10W figure: 8mm basswood plywood "at a time", per xTool's FAQ. xTool's page also lists a 20W variant for buyers who want more.
- The color workflow is not in the box. Per the listing, the CMYK module is sold separately.
- 26 mm maximum processing height with the baseplate, per xTool, and no riser base support.
- No external air port and no honeycomb panel support, per xTool.
- Computer-driven: xTool's FAQ lists PC control over USB or Wi-Fi.
Verdict
The xTool M2 10W is worth it in 2026 for a crafter who wants an enclosed, Class 1 machine with camera placement for wood, leather, felt, fabric and paper, and who accepts that thick cutting and color printing are not what the standalone box delivers. The listing and xTool's pages agree on what matters most: Class 1 safety, a fully enclosed design, dual cameras and a 10W diode; xTool's pages add the interlock switches, the built-in air pump and which add-ons are sold separately. Check the current price of the xTool M2 10W on Amazon and confirm which package the listing is showing, since xTool sells the same machine as a standalone and in bundles.
Where to buy: Check the current price of the xTool M2 10W on Amazon.
Sources
- xTool — "xTool M2 FAQ", xTool Support Center, accessed October 2026.
- xTool — "Introducing xTool M2: The Smart and Easiest Color Craft Laser", xTool blog, accessed October 2026.
- xTool — "xTool M2 Color Craft Laser Cutter & Engraver" product page, xtool.com, accessed October 2026.
- Amazon product listing for the xTool M2 10W Laser Engraver (title, brand and feature bullets).
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
Frequently asked
Is the xTool M2 10W enclosed laser engraver worth it in 2026?
Yes, for enclosed, camera-placed engraving and light cutting on wood, leather, felt, fabric and paper. Both sources state Class 1 safety with a fully enclosed design; xTool's FAQ adds a 426 × 320 mm processing area, a built-in air pump and an 8mm basswood plywood cutting figure for the 10W module. The CMYK Inkjet module is a separate purchase.
Does the xTool M2 come with the CMYK inkjet module?
Not in the standalone. Per the listing, "CMYK Inkjet module and RA3 Lite Rotary are not included in this M2 standalone, available separately as add-ons." xTool's product page lists the standalone alongside "Color Print & Cut Bundle" and "Deluxe Bundle" variants, and the bundle contents are listed there.
How big is the xTool M2's work area?
Per xTool's FAQ, the 10W module's processing area is "16.7'' × 12.6'' (426 × 320 mm)". The CMYK inkjet module's area is smaller, at 300 × 294 mm, and the 3W infrared module's is 412 × 310 mm. The Amazon listing does not state a work area.
Does the xTool M2 need an air assist pump?
No, per xTool's FAQ: "xTool M2 comes with a built-in air pump, so no additional air assist is required." The product page adds that there is no external air port for a third-party pump.
Can the xTool M2 engrave metal?
With the 3W IR laser, which is sold separately per the listing. xTool's FAQ lists stainless steel, copper, aluminum, precious metals, anodized aluminum and certain plastics for the infrared module, and warns that the standard blue-light module is not suitable for mirror-finished metals, unoxidized aluminum or copper.
A quick, honest note: some links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission when you buy through them — at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay.
Rowan Ash · Managing Editor, Machines
Built the Pass Depth class-based scoring system by cataloguing spec sheets and owner reports across 200+ desktop-laser configurations. Reviews focus on what a machine costs to run and to earn from.





